Discover our Roots!
In 1947, a company named Herb Shelly, Inc., was started by L.A. Godby and G.T. Schjedahl on 121 Elm Street in Farmington, Minnesota. In 1951, L.A. Godby split off from G.T. Schjedahl and changed the name of the company to what we know today as Peerless Plastics.
In 1971, the first electric sealing machine was used at the plant. A total of 35 workers & a few summer helpers helped the company boom. On August 3, 1979 the name changed for the last time and incorporated as Peerless Plastics, Inc., which is the name of the company today.
In May 1981, the need to expand was fulfilled & the company relocated to 510 Willow Street, Farmington Minnesota. This new building is twice the size as big as the Elm Street building with 43,000 sq. feet.
The firm made aprons for Woolworth, dampening bags for clothes, dress bags, blanket bags, chair seat covers & baby car seat protectors.
In early company history, the company only had 20 sewing machines, 10 being used for contract work & 10 for open work.
Sign up to hear from us about specials, sales, and events.